The Oregon Hazelnut Commission

The Oregon Hazelnut Commission (OHC) is a Commodity Commission and agency of the State of Oregon under the Oregon Department of Agriculture. It was formed by legislative action in 1951.  The charge of the OHC is to provide production research for the hazelnut industry.  Members are appointed by the Director of Agriculture and include 7 growers and one public member.  Funding for the Commission is a per ton assessment determined by and collected from the growers via the handlers.

Current Commission members:

Mark Gibbs, McMinnville, Public Member Chairman (971) 216-0111
Rich Birkemeier, Canby Vice Chairman (503) 266-9781
John Sullivan, Vida Treasurer (541) 896-3825
Wayne Chambers, Albany Commissioner (541) 928-7940
Bruce Chapin, Salem Commissioner (503) 393-6327
Tim Newkirk, Canby Commissioner (503) 266-3311
Doug Olsen, Newberg Commissioner (503) 628-1490
Tom Rogers, Sherwood Commissioner (503) 538-5560

For a synopsis of the 2011-12 research projects, see “Production Research” in the Growers Corner .